Chief Electoral Office.—This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 23), and amendments thereto, and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council. In addition it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—This Department was constituted in December 1949 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 67) and came into existence on Jan. 18, 1950, under the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Most departmental work is carried on through four branches. The Canadian Citizenship Branch assists governmental and non-governmental agencies engaged or interested in facilitating the adjustment and integration of newcomers and in making Canadians conscious of their privileges and responsibilities as citizens. The Canadian Citizenship Registration Branch administers the Canadian Citizenship Act and is the custodian of all records under that Act and all Naturalization Acts previously in force. The Immigration Branch administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination and movement of immigrants, the exclusion or deportation of undesirables and the settlement or establishment of immigrants in Canada. The activities of the Indian Affairs Branch include management of all Indian affairs. Its organization consists of a headquarters office at Ottawa, a regional supervisory staff, and 89 local agencies in the field.

The Minister of Citizenship and Immigration is responsible to Parliament for the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, and for the National Gallery of Canada.

Civil Service Commission.—The Civil Service Commission of Canada dates from the Civil Service Act of 1908. Under this Act the Commission was given the responsibility of applying, wherever possible, the principle of appointment by merit in filling permanent positions within departmental headquarters positions at Ottawa, termed the 'inside service'.

The Civil Service Act, 1918 extended the competitive system of appointments to cover the outside as well as the inside service and temporary as well as permanent appointments. It made the Commission responsible for establishing a system of organization and classification that would secure uniformity in the staffing of the various departments and in the salaries paid for work of equal levels of difficulty and responsibility.

The jurisdiction of the Commission now extends to all departments of the Government and to a large number of boards and commissions, exclusive of Crown corporations.

The Civil Service Commission, which is responsible not to the executive government but only to Parliament, consists of three members, one of whom serves as Chairman. Each member of the Commission is appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of ten years and each has the rank and standing of a Deputy Minister. The Commission has a staff of approximately 660 persons located in the headquarters office at Ottawa and in district offices at St. John's, Nfld., Halifax, N.S., Monoton, N.B., Montreal, Que., Toronto, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., Regina, Sask., Edmonton, Alta., and Vancouver, B.C.

Department of Defence Production.—This Department was established on Apr. 1, 1951, under the provisions of the Defence Production Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 62, as amended). Under this Act the Minister is given, with certain exceptions, authority to buy defence supplies and construct defence projects required by the Department of National Defence. The Minister may, if authorized by the Governor General in Council, undertake for an associated government anything he may undertake for the Canadian Government. In addition, all powers, duties and functions that therefore were vested in the Minister of Trade and Commerce under any contract, agreement, lease or other writing entered into pursuant to the Department of Munitions and Supply Act, 1939, or the Defence Supplies Act, 1950, are vested in the Minister of Defence Production.

Broadly, the Department's functions are to procure military goods, to construct defence installations and to organize industry for defence as required on behalf of the Department of National Defence, other government departments, and associated governments; to promote the expansion of defence production facilities and the development of defence-supporting industries particularly of strategic resources important for the defence of Canada and its allies; and to ensure adequate supplies of essential materials and services for defence requirements. The main procurement units of the Department are six production branches—Aircraft, Ammunition, Electronics, Gun, Machine Tool and Shipbuilding—and a General Purchasing Branch. Major offices for foreign procurement are located at London, England, and Washington, U.S.A.; the General Purchasing Branch has 14 district purchasing offices located throughout Canada for local or urgent procurement. In addition, there are various service branches which include Administration, Comptroller's, Economics and Statistics, Financial Adviser's, Industrial Security, Legal, and Secretary's.

The following Crown companies report to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production: Canadian Arsenals Limited, Canadian Commercial Corporation, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, and Polymer Corporation Limited.